Home > Book Reviews > Book Review: The New School of Information Security

Book Review: The New School of Information Security

One of the more interesting information security books I have read recently is The New School of Information Security by Adam Shostack and Andrew Stewart. You can read my four star Amazon review of the book. It is a quick, enjoyable read and definitely recommended.

Categories: Book Reviews
  1. Rob Lewis
    August 5, 2008 at 12:41 AM | #1

    Hi Jacob,

    I see in your Amazon review of the New School that you believe new models of security are needed. I discuss some of the barriers to this in the industry in my review of the book. I would be curious to know what you think.

    Rob in Ottawa

  2. Jacob Gajek
    August 19, 2008 at 4:54 PM | #2

    Hey Rob,

    you make some good points in your review. However, I’m not sure what it would mean to improve 10-15 times in security performance when we are still at a stage where we can’t accurately measure our current performance. I think that is one of the major themes of the book. I don’t think the authors succeeded in convincing me that new models of security are needed, but they did make a strong case that new approaches (to achieving existing models of security) and an emphasis on empirical evidence are needed in order to move forward.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

